Administrative Council Meeting Minutes

March 9, 2023 at 8:15am President's Boardroom

1. Welcoming Remarks @ 8:15am

Ms. Jennifer Weidman

Welcome to new members; Dr. Gregory Shelley, Co-Chair ChairNet, & Dr. Deryl Johnson, Senate President.

2. Approval of Minutes from 9.15.22

Ms. Jennifer Weidman

Dr. Richard Courtney made a motion to accept the minutes as presented. Dr. Gregory Shelley 2nd the motion – motion passed.

3. Calendar Committee Proposal & Student Accounts Rep

Mr. Ben Trout

After discussions with Provost, Dr. Basden Arnold, & APSCUF President, Dr. Albert Fu, Mr. Ben Trout, Chair of the Calendar Committee, proposed to adjust our two-day course offering times from 80 minutes to 75 minutes. Admin Council Members all in favor of proposal. Also, it was recommended to add a Student Accounts Representative to the Calendar Committee. Dr. Deryl Johnson made a motion to add a Student Accounts Representative to the Calendar Committee. Ms. Fran Cortez Funk 2nd the motion – motion passed.

4. Commission on Status of Women Name Change

Dr. Yasoda Sharma

It was recommended to table this agenda item for the next meeting and ask Dr. Sharma to join the meeting and speak on the subject.

5. Student Government Board Update

Ms. Kayla Sherry

"We moved swiftly along with our budget process and are in the final stages of that. We did not have an increase to the Student Activity Fee, and our Treasurer is hoping to keep it that way or even lower it next year.

We've been having discussions about the warehouse planned to be built on Kutztown Rd and what safety concerns our students had if that were to go into place. We focused a lot of our energy into discussing concerns about the potential Kutztown Rd. warehouse, as well as informing the wider student population about safety concerns with the development.

For spring retreat — we tried to make it more interactive and meaningful for our members, so we did a lot of leadership development, team bonding, and planning for the semester. Our committees came up with a lot of great ideas and goals, with the focus being on student involvement, mental health, awareness of our organization, parking and transportation, and general campus safety.

We elected a new Secretary, Gavin Stone, at the beginning of this semester. We won't have another election to fill our board membership until after break when we have General Board elections for the next academic year, and then we will elect next year's officers.

Looking ahead, we're gearing up for warmer weather, which unfortunately means some unwelcome visitors might make their way back to campus, so we'll be trying our best to inform students to stay away from situations like that. Our PR team will likely put together more informative social media posts to do so.



Additionally, we are in the process of developing a survey to better understand issues our students are facing, which we will be running through the Assessment Office very soon. If we are able to bring in a good sample size, we will present some of our findings to campus leadership toward the end of the semester. If that doesn't happen, my hope is that the survey will have longevity and SGB can continue to use it to gather student concerns in future semesters."

6. Sustainability

Dr. Richard Courtney

Dr. Richard Courtney is a member of the PASSHE Sustainable Development Task Force. The Task Force will be recommending to the Chancellor's office that all PASSHE campuses have a dedicated office of sustainability with a cabinet-level director. They will also be recommending to establish a dedicated course addressing sustainability.

Many other initiatives should be added regarding sustainability such as; adding the information to the website, addressing items put out for the trash on move out day, etc.

7. Shared Governance Taskforce

Dr. Deryl Johnson

Dr. Deryl Johnson updated the group on the progress of the Shared Governance Taskforce. Members of the task force are; Dr. Deryl Johnson, Dr. Albert Fu, Dr. Jason Lanter, Dr. Cara Cotellese, Dr. Lorin Basden Arnold, & Dr. Lisa Frye. The main objective of the group is to what makes the most sense functionality wise as to where the committees report, etc. The taskforce will be proposing some changing in the Governance Structure.

Follow-up needed on two proposed mergers; Well Being Committee with the Health & Wellness Committee and the Safety & Committee (reports to Admin Council) with the EMT (advisory committee to the President)

8. As May Arise - none

Meeting adjourned at 9:20am



Members Present:

Ms. Jennifer Weidman

Dr. Richard Courtney

Dr. Greg Shelley

Ms. Fran Cortez Funk

Mr. Matt Santos

Mr. Matt Delaney

Ms. Kayla Sherry

Dr. Deryl Johnson

Dr. Lorin Basden Arnold

Mr. Jesus Pena

Ms. Krista Evans

Members Absent:

Dr. Ken Hawkinson

Dr. Albert Fu

Mr. David Isett

Guests Present:

Mr. Ben Trout

The next meeting is scheduled for April 6th at 8:15am in the President's Boardroom

