General Education Committee Members and Meetings

The General Education Committee (GEC) is a standing committee reporting to the University Curriculum Committee (UCC). According to the UCC bylaws, the "primary purpose of the GEC will be to make recommendations about both new and existing courses to be included in the General Education curriculum." Any changes to the General Education Program will be recommended by the GEC to the UCC, which retains final approval. The GEC has established its own set of bylaws and operating procedures.

The membership of the GEC consists of eight faculty members (one from each of the four undergraduate colleges and another four elected at large), the Provost or Designee, and one student. The current membership is as follows:

Constituency Member E-Mail Term
College of Business Qin Geng geng@kutztown.edu 2022-2024
College of Education Kathleen Stanfa stanfa@kutztown.edu 2021-2023
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Matthew Junker junker@kutztown.edu 2022-2024
College of Visual & Performing Arts Megan O'Byrne, Chair obyrne@kutztown.edu 2021-2023
At-Large Khori Newlander newlander@kutztown.edu 2021-2023
At-Large Ko-Hsin Hsu hsu@kutztown.edu 2021-2023
At-Large Erin Kraal kraal@kutztown.edu 2022-2024
At-Large Krista Prock prock@kutztown.edu 2022-2024
Provost's Designee Karen Rauch rauch@kutztown.edu N/A
Student N/A
Clerical Support Bethany French french@kutztown.edu N/A

KU Faculty: To submit a proposal concerning the General Education program, including Competency Across the Curriculum courses, please refer to the approval process portion of this website. All proposals must be uploaded to the GEC D2L assignments page by the deadline listed below. You will need to log into D2L to access the assignments page.

Meeting Schedule for 2022 Fall Semester

Meeting Date Proposals due Time/Location of the meeting

August 25, 2022

(no continuation meeting)

August 18

11-11:50am, via Zoom

September 15, 2022   

(continuation meeting on September 27)

September 8

11-11:50, via Zoom

October 20, 2022

(continuation meeting on October 25)

October 13 11-11:50, via Zoom

November 17, 2022

(continuation meeting on November 22)

November 10 11-11:50, via Zoom

December 15, 2022

(continuation meeting on February 1)

December 8 11-11:50, via Zoom

Bylaws and Minutes from Past Meetings

Bylaws - Updated 2018

Apr. 21, 2022

Mar. 22, 2022

Feb. 17, 2022

Nov. 18, 2021

Oct. 21, 2021

Sept. 16, 2021