General Education Committee Members and Meetings

The General Education Committee (GEC) is a standing committee reporting to the University Curriculum Committee (UCC). According to the UCC bylaws, the "primary purpose of the GEC will be to make recommendations about both new and existing courses to be included in the General Education curriculum." Any changes to the General Education Program will be recommended by the GEC to the UCC, which retains final approval. The GEC has established its own set of bylaws and operating procedures.

The membership of the GEC consists of eight faculty members (one from each of the four undergraduate colleges and another four elected at large), the Provost or Designee, and one student. The current membership is as follows:

Constituency Member E-Mail Term
College of Business Qin Geng geng@kutztown.edu 2020-2022
College of Education Kathleen Stanfa stanfa@kutztown.edu 2021-2023
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Matthew Junker junker@kutztown.edu 2020-2022
College of Visual & Performing Arts Megan O'Byrne obyrne@kutztown.edu 2021-2023
At-Large Khori Newlander newlander@kutztown.edu 2021-2023
At-Large Ko-Hsin Hsu hsu@kutztown.edu 2021-2023
At-Large Albert Fu afu@kutztown.edu 2020-2022
At-Large John Stanley, Chair, 2020-2021 stanley@kutztown.edu 2020-2022
Provost's Designee Karen Rauch rauch@kutztown.edu N/A
Student N/A
Clerical Support Bethany French french@kutztown.edu N/A

KU Faculty: To submit a proposal concerning the General Education program, including Competency Across the Curriculum courses, please refer to the approval process portion of this website. All proposals must be uploaded to the GEC D2L assignments page by the deadline listed below. You will need to log into D2L to access the assignments page.

Meeting Schedule for 2021-2022 Academic Year

Meeting Date Proposals due Time/Location of the meeting

September 16, 2021 (continuation meeting on September 23)

September 9

11-11:50, Stratton 317

October 21, 2021 (continuation meeting on October 26) October 14 11-11:50, Zoom
November 18, 2021 (continuation meeting on November 23) November 11 11-11:50, Zoom
January 25, 2022 (continuation meeting on February 1) January 18 11-11:50, Zoom
February 17, 2022 (continuation meeting on February 22) February 10 11-11:50, Zoom
March 17, 2022 (continuation meeting on March 22) March 10

11-11:50, Zoom

April 21, 2022 (continuation meeting on April 26) (No course proposals, this meeting is procedural for the committee)

11-11:50, Zoom

Bylaws and Minutes from Past Meetings

Bylaws - Updated 2018

Sept. 16, 2021

Oct. 21, 2021

Nov. 18, 2021

Feb. 17, 2022