Honorary Degree Committee


Implements policy and procedures to invite outstanding individuals to serve as visiting professors. It also implements policy and procedures by which the university confers honorary degrees. Meetings: as needed. Terms: 2 years. Appointees: 5 of the 8 members.

  • Membership



    Lorin Basden Arnold (Provost)


    Michelle Savescu (APSCUF Representative)


    Michele White (College of Education Representative)**


    Yongjae Kim (College of Business Representative)**


    Brandon Nolt (Non-Teaching\At-Large Faculty Representative)**


    Nicole McClure (College of LAS Representative)**


    Elizabeth Schneider (College of Visual & Performing Arts Representative)**


    Zhixi Zhang (Student Government Board Representative)


    * Indefinite Term of Office
    ** Appointed by Committee on Committees

  • Mission & Bylaws
  • Meeting Times

    Meeting times TBA.

  • Agenda & Minutes

    Click here to view available archived minutes.

  • Nomination Process


    The honorary degree may be awarded to recognize distinguished contributions in the service to humanity, scholarship, government, business, creativity, science, or the community.


    1. Nominations shall be accepted on a nomination form (see attached) from any member of the University community.
    2. Nominations shall be sent to the chair of the Honorary Degree Committee by November 1.
    3. The committee shall thoroughly evaluate each nominee in relationship to the approved guidelines (criteria). The name(s) of the selected candidate(s) shall be submitted to the Executive Committee of the University Senate.
    4. Name(s) approved by the Senate Executive Committee shall be forwarded to the University President and announced to the University Senate at an appropriate time.
    5. The University President shall submit the name(s) of the recommended candidate(s) to the Council of Trustees for approval and submission to the Board of Governors.

    Honorary Degree Nomination Form

For more information please contact:

University Senate

Email: senate@kutztown.edu

Phone: 610.683.4856

Union Committee Representative: To be considered for a committee union position please contact a union representative.

Explore More