Delaware Valley Geographical Association

This award is given to the outstanding geography major and/or to the outstanding Secondary Education/Citizenship/Geography concentration major in the graduating class. Evaluation criteria may include: GPA, performance in geography courses, participation in faculty-led research, presentations at professional meetings, and participation in student organizations.


The Delaware Valley Geographical Association (DVGA) is a local chapter of the American Association of Geographers (AAG) dedicated to promoting geography in the Delaware Valley region.  Each spring, the DVGA awards one or two high‐achieving geography majors from each of the DVGA region schools. At first the Philadelphia Area Geographers, as the organization was originally named, was guided by an ad hoc committee composed of Richard Bucksar, Gerald Karaska, Richard Keppel, Henry Michael, Clinton Mullen and Cyrus Sharer. By 1969 the present name, Delaware Valley Geographical Association was adopted. At the same time meetings were moved to the western suburbs, to points readily accessible to the majority of the growing membership. Geographers and students from East Stroudsburg University, Kutztown University, Millersville University, Philadelphia Community College, Rowan College of New Jersey, Rutgers (Camden campus), Temple University, Trenton State College, University of Delaware, Villanova University, West Chester University, York College of Pennsylvania, and many other schools, community colleges, private firms, and government agencies in the region actively participate in the DVGA today.


The award will be conferred upon a Geography major who has epitomized excellence in the Kutztown University Department of Geography. The winner will have one of the top GPAs in the department and will have distinguished him or herself by exceptional service and achievement. The award will be granted at the discretion of the Department Chair and after a formal vote by the Department faculty. The award will not be presented to a student in the Geography Minor.


Courtney Moyer 2021

Smantha Butler 2020

Marie Smoyer 2019

Glenn Roedel 2018

William Havrilchak 2018

Zachary Lawlor 2017

Christopher Madden 2016

Zachary Graves 2015

Chelsea Strehse 2014

Laura Kaufmann 2013

Michael E. Mault 2012

Andrew E. Benjamin 2011

Shannon M. Crooker 2010

John Dombzalski 2009

Theodore Conley 2008

Devon Hain 2007

Kathleen Shellington 2006

Jonah Markiewicz 2005

Leo Scott, Jr. 2004

Anne Weigle 2003

Jeff Zimmerman 2002

Deana DeWire 2001

Fiona Kellond 2001

Brandy Davidson 2000

Christian D. Hole 1999

Hugh McGowan 1999

Shelley Degler 1998

Deborah A. Lambdin 1998

Beth Kelley 1997

Kevin Sprague 1997

John L. Hackman 1996

Dianne Bowman 1995

Veronica Rogers 1995

Karl Graybill 1994

David Lorchak 1994

John Marcincavage 1993

Frank Lucas 1993

Petra Zimmerman 1990

Nancy Baldwin 1990

Brian Bloss 1986

Eric Kolodinsky 1986