Student News

Highlights of some of the many accomplishments of our BA Geography, and BS Environmental Science - Geography majors

Star Students Spring 2023

Three Geography Students Recognized at the Spring 2023 LAS Dean's Scholars Event

(From left to right) Abby Wheeler is a combined BS Environmental Science - Geography and BA Geography - Planning track major; Megan Grim is a BA Geography - Environmental track major; and  Emily Leggiero is a BS Environmental Science major following both the Biology and Geography tracks.  The three were each nominated by faculty for their academic achievements and for their undergraduate research.

Emily Leggiero

BS Environmental Science - Geography Major Featured in The Collage

Emily Leggiero, senior Environmental Science - Geography major, is featured in the March 2023 edition of The Collage.  Follow the link to read about how Emily has come to value courses in cartography and geographic information systems (GIS), and about her adding the Certificate in Geospatial Information Technology to her academic plan.

Middle States Division of the Association of American Geographers logo

Outstanding Geography Majors Recognized by MSAAG

Three standout KU Geography majors were recognized in the spring 2021 edition of the Middle States Division of the American Association of Geographers Newsletter.  Jaylin Calistro, Macy Turner, and Abby Wheeler were recognized as winning participants in an event organized in lieu of the Annual Geography Bowl.  Congratulations to our three winners!

Kirsten Bell headshot  with a snowy forest in the background

Kirsten Bell Highlighted in The Collage

Outstanding BS Environmental Science - Geography Track major, Kirsten Bell is featured in the April 2021 edition of The Collage, the monthly publication of the Kutztown University College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.  Follow this link to read Kirsten's Student Highlight. 

2019 GTU Initiates standing in a group and smiling in front of a slide show with the insignia

Spring 2019 Initiates to the Gamma Psi Chapter of Gamma Theta Upsilon

From left to right: Anna Grayek, Env. Sci.-Geography; Gabriella Ferreira, Geography; Joseph Tini III, Comm. Studies; Abbey Sauerwine, Business Admin.; Patrick Boos, Env. Sci.-Bio.  (Not pictured: Ryan Harbison, Env. Sci.-Geography; Emily Quigg, Geography).  Congratulations all!

GTU is open to all students demonstrating excellence in the field of Geography.  See the GTU page for membership details.

2019 Dean's Scholars standing in a group, holding their awards

Geography Students Recognized at the 2019 Dean's Scholars Reception

From left to right: Marie Smoyer '19, Laura Graziano '19, Emily Cantor '18, Tianna Andrews '19, Elizabeth Geesey '20, and Alison Reynolds '19.  Each Dean's Scholar was nominated by a Geography faculty member in recognition of their academic acheivements.  Congratulations to all!

Geography end of year awardees 2019 standing on stage together

2019 End-of-Year Geography Awards

From left to right: Gabriella Ferreira, Ensminger Award; Aaron Haninchick, Moyer Award; Heather Willever, Justham Memorial Award; and Marie Smoyer, Delaware Valley Geographical Society Award.

Two students being handed award envelopes by a male staff member at the 2018 Carrie Babb Presentation Awards

2018 Carrie Babb Presentation Awards. 

David Connelley and Alison Reynolds receive checks to help defray costs of making professional conference presentations.

Glenn Roedel and William Havrilchak hold up their 2018 DVGA awards

Glenn Roedel and William Havrilchak are co-recipients of the 2018 Delaware Valley Geographical Association Award for Outstanding Senior Geography Major.

Zach Lawlor surrounded by geography department professors and holding his DVGA award

Zack Lawlor receives the 2017 Delaware Valley Geographical Association Award for Outstanding Senior Geography Major.

Left to right: Dr. Richard S. Courtney, Zach Lawlor, Dr. Jerry Griffith, and Dr. Moira Conway.