National Council for Geographic Education

This award has traditionally been given to the outstanding Secondary Education/Citizenship/Geography concentration major in the graduating class.  Starting in the 2014-2015 academic year, the Kutztown University Department of Geography will open this award to all outstanding Geography majors in the graduating class.


The National Council for Geographic Education (NCGE) is a non-profit organization, chartered in 1915 to enhance the status and quality of geography teaching and learning. NCGE supports geography teaching at all levels-from kindergarten through university. Our members include both U.S. and International teachers, professors, students, businesses, and others who support geographic education.


The NCGE/AAG Excellence of Scholarship Award recognizes graduating seniors majoring in geography for outstanding academic achievement. Award winners are chosen by individual geography departments. The primary criterion for this award should be academic performance; secondary criteria such as Gamma Theta Upsilon membership, departmental service, dedication, enthusiasm, and participation can also be considered.


Shannon M. Crooker 2010

Hope Rothermel 2009

Theodore Conley 2008

Kathleen Shellington 2006

Emily Smith 2004

Scott Kupec 2001

Kevin Semian 2000

Anthony Lawrence 1999

Sally A. Hanzlik 1998

Veronica A. Rogers 1996