Undergraduate Research Creativity Faculty Mentorship Awards

Faculty Mentorship Awards

Kutztown University's Undergraduate Research and Creativity Faculty Advisory Board and the Office of Grants and Sponsored Projects awarded their second annual Undergraduate Research and Creativity Faculty Mentorship Awards at a ceremony held Wednesday, April 20th. The awards recognize excellence in faculty engagement with undergraduate researchers.

The 2022 four award recipients (two STEM and two non-STEM) are:

  • Dr. Yun (Amy) Lu, Department of Mathematics
  • Dr. Carol Mapes, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Dr. Yongjae Kim, Department of Sport Management and Leadership Studies
  • Dr. Jennifer Schlegel, Department of Anthropology/Sociology

    The 2021 four award recipients (two STEM and two non-STEM) are:

    • Ed Simpson, Department of Physical Sciences
    • Khori Newlander, Department of Anthropology/Sociology
    • Carol Watson, Department of Elementary, Middle Level, Library & Technology Education
    • Adrienne Oakley, Department of Physical Sciences 

    Each award carries $500 in professional development funds.

    "The twofold purpose of the awards is to raise awareness of all the outstanding undergraduate research that is taking place on campus and beyond, whether in local forests or streams, or much farther away and to reward, recognize and celebrate these impressive achievements," said Dr. Lynn Kutch, coordinator of Undergraduate Research and Creativity.

    2022-2023 Timeline:

    Nominations Deadline: The deadline for nominations has been extended to March 8, 2023. (Submission Form)

    Announcement and Notification of Recipients: The announcement and Notification of Recipients will take place the first week of April 2023.                                                                       

    As part of HECBC, Berks County Undergraduate Research and Creativity Conference: Awards Ceremony for Recipients.

    Candidates may be nominated by a colleague or self-nominate, but all candidates must submit the following three items, and only these three items

    • A personal statement (written by the candidate) of 500 words. The statement should include an explanation of their UGRC mentorship philosophy and how the candidate supports UGRC in teaching. 
      • Candidates should also address how their work corresponds to one or more of the following areas
        • Including course-based research experiences
        • Building strong research groups
        • Supporting individual thesis projects
        • Conducting research in the scholarship of undergraduate research
        • Supporting faculty development in undergraduate research
        • Broadening opportunities for URG for performing and disseminating undergraduate research
    • A c.v., no longer than two pages, that highlights that candidate’s professional work with UGRC
    • One letter of support. Candidate decides if this is from a student, colleague, or other

    2022 Faculty Mentorship Awards

    Dr. Kutch congratulates Dr. Yongjae Kim and Dr. Jennifer Schlegel during the 2022 Faculty Mentorship award presentation.

    2022 Faculty Mentorship Awards

    Dr. Yun (Amy) Lu, 2022 Faculty Mentorship recipient.

    2022 Faculty Mentorship Awards

    Dr. Carol Mapes, 2022 Faculty Mentorship recipient.

    Dr. Yongjae Kim and Dr. Schlegel receive Faculty Mentorship Awards from Dr. Lynn Kutch
    Dr. Yun Lu accepting her 2022 Faculty Mentorship Award
    Dr. Carol Mapes posing outdoors with her Faculty Mentorship award and certificate.