2019-20 News

May 5, 2020

Dr. Fran Vasko is the 2020 recipient of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Outstanding Faculty Award. This honor recognizes a faculty member in the college with a consistent and conscientious commitment to student success both in and out of the classroom. Please join us in congratulating Dr. Vasko and in thanking him for his dedication to our students.

The Dean's Outstanding Faculty award recognizes tenure-track and tenured faculty with a record of supporting student research, internships, and helping students above and beyond the "norm."  Particular consideration is given to contributions to student learning/student learning experiences and involvement with students.  The recipient is someone who holds the respect of their university colleagues.

Dr. Vasko
May 1, 2020

Please join us in congratulating our Spring 2020 graduates, as well as celebrating the following students' achievements:

  • Ange DeCicco: J. Dwight Daugherty Award, Student Teaching Award
  • Brooke Eshbach: Mathematics Award
  • Kolten Hendershot: Kappa Mu Epsilon Award
  • Vanessa Maybruck: Mathematics Undergraduate Research Award
  • Safal Raut Chhetri: William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition
  • Isaac Reiter: Mathematics Undergraduate Research Award, William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition
May 1, 2020

Please join us in congratulating the newest members of the Kappa Mu Epsilon Mathematics Honors Society!

Caelan Brooks
Kaitlin Eltz
Emily Groshek
Liannah Kim
Collin Levis
Alexander Miller
Alyssa Miller
Lindsey Moyer
Courtney O’Connell

March 28, 2020

Dr. Padraig McLoughlin has been presented with the Crawford Award for Distinguished Teaching by the Eastern Pennsylvania and Delaware (EPaDel) section of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA).  Dr. McLoughlin was recognized for his many impressive accomplishments and qualities, including:

  • The testimony of his students and colleagues about his commitment, passion, and talent for inspiring undergraduates;
  • His emphasis on depth of student learning using a modified Moore method classroom technique;
  • His mentoring of both students and colleagues throughout his tenure at Kutztown University;
  • His overwhelming encouragement and support of undergraduate research; and
  • His general dedication to pedagogy and teaching over a period of 20 years.
Dr. McLoughlin

Moreover, Dr. McLoughlin will be nominated by EPaDel for this year's national MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

For more information, please see the official EPaDel announcement.

March 16, 2020

Kutztown University is pleased to announce Vanessa Maybruck as the recipient of the 2019-2020 Pennsylvania Association of Colleges and Employers JoAnne Day Student of the Year Award for STEM. PennACE recognizes the achievements and contributions made by undergraduate students enrolled at member institutions who have completed an internship or cooperative assignment. Maybruck’s internship was with Oak Ridge National Laboratory (through the U.S. Department of Energy).

Vanessa Maybruck
November 12, 2019

Mathematics student Vanessa Maybruck, as well as professors Dr. Myung Soon Song and Dr. Wing Hong Tony Wong, presented their research at the Fall Meeting of the Eastern Pennsylvania and Delaware (EPaDel) Section of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA).

November 5, 2019

Kutztown mathematics students Anthony Dellinger, Vanessa Maybruck, Bryan McNally, Max Persky, Isaac Reiter, Stephanie Rinker, and Micah Ulicny presented their research at the 2019 PASSHE STEM Conference, hosted by Kutztown University.  The conference was organized by a committee of Kutztown faculty members, which was chaired by mathematics professor Dr. Amy Lu.

October 5, 2019

The Kutztown University Department of Mathematics hosted the Mathematical Association of America's Eastern PA and Delaware Careers in Mathematics Conference. This conference featured 16 panelists from different professions in industry, who shared their personal experiences and career paths with college and high school students. There were over 150 participants at this conference, including professors, teachers, and students from colleges and high schools in Eastern Pennsylvania and Delaware.

Careers Conference Panelists
September 16, 2019

KU Math Student Vanessa Maybruck presented her research at the Lehigh University Mathematics Graduate Student Seminar

Student at Lehigh